Misdemeanor and Felony Assault Charges
Alabama recognizes many different types of assault charges. They range from misdemeanor to felony in seriousness. Each charge has its own specific rules and sentencing guidelines.
Misdemeanor Assault: in the Third Degree
Considered a Class A Misdemeanor, this charge includes assault intended to cause harm to someone, sometimes with a deadly weapon. If convicted, the sentence may carry no more than 1 year in jail and up to $6,000 fine.
Felony Assault: in the Second Degree
Considered a Class C Felony, this charge includes assault intended to cause harm to a police officer or health care worker, sometimes with a deadly weapon. If convicted, the sentence may be 1 to 10 years in jail and up to $15,000 in fines.
Felony Assault: in the First Degree
Considered a Class B Felony, this charge includes assault that causes permanent harm and grave risk of death to another. If convicted, the sentence may be 2 to 20 years in prison and up to $30,000 in fines. First degree rape is also considered first degree assault in Alabama–the most serious of all offenses, it carries the heaviest possible sentencing for assault.
If you’re facing any level of assault charge in Alabama, our defense lawyers can help. A good defense lawyer can assess the strength of the prosecution’s case and move forward with your best possible defensive strategy. This can potentially reduce charges or penalties that may otherwise have been incurred.